ntel nova

When Beauty Meets The Beast: The Phantom 5 Review – Multitasking, Sound & Fingerprint Test Included

This is me in one picture

Kelly-Rowland-Excited-Reaction-Gif

Guys! Like I said in my video review, this is a great achievement for Tecno Mobile, Nigerians know how far they’ve come, all the way from the Tecno N3

download

 

To the Phantom 5

IMG_2763

 

It is a big Milestone, however, like every  other device, there are some minor glitches I noticed with the Phantom 5, so Join me as I take you on this review.

MEET THE BEAUTY

DESIGN AND BUILD

The Phantom 5 is beautiful! As said in the unboxing, the Phantom 5 is an all metal 5.5-inch device that might get stares from people when taken outside – at least I got stares.

IMG_2481

It comes with a non-removable 3000 mAh battery. Its volume,  power button, and Micro SD card slot are on the right side while the  Dual-Sim card tray is on the left.

IMG_2706

 It also comes with beautiful earphones that have an inbuilt HiFi.

IMG_2579

MEET THE BEAST

POWERING UP THE BEAST

The first time you power up the Phantom 5, you get to see the logo and animation that Tecno Mobile is famous for, especially with the Boom J7 and Camon  C8.

IMG_2664

The  device takes less than thirty seconds to power on and less than 5 seconds to power off.

T93kMW

After switching on the device you get to see the Phantom 5’s UI and Yass, Wallpapers, by the way,  the wallpapers on the Tecno Phantom 5 are on Fleek! So gorgeous!

You should also notice that the Phantom 5 comes with capacitive buttons.

FINGERPRINT

On first use,  you might want to try out the Fingerprint Sensor which I think is super fast! Check out the Fingerprint test below.

However, contrary to the opinion that the Phantom 5 allows you record 10 fingerprints, the device only allows you record 5 fingerprints.

IMG_2691

The fingerprint sensor allows for a 360 degrees rotation, meaning that if you place your finger in any position on the sensor, the Phantom 5 will still recognize it.

UI

Beautiful is your name, wonderful is what you are.

The Phantom 5 got me singing Asa’s beautiful because that is just how you can describe the Phantom 5’s UI.

IMG_2675

Though running on an Android Lollipop OS, Tecno Mobile has carved out a beautiful UI for the Phantom 5, those that have handled the Camon C8 and the Boom J7 should be familiar with the UI. By the way, The Phantom 5’s UI trumps the other mentioned devices

 

BLOATWARES

We know that devices nowadays come with various apps that might be wanted or unwanted, the Phantom 5 is no exception. However, Asides for Apps like Palmchat, Palm play, and Carl care, you might want to  thank Tecno Mobile for installing the other apps on your behalf.

Screenshot_2015-09-25-08-20-13

The Phantom 5 comes pre-loaded with essential apps, like Whatsapp, Facebook, WPS Office, BBM, Opera mini, UC browser, Xender, DU Speed booster, Swift key, and TouchPal.

Screenshot_2015-09-25-08-21-52

The Big boys of gaming might not like the fact that it comes with an Asphalt Nitro (demo) and Puzzle pets, but as said earlier, these apps can be uninstalled.

Screenshot_2015-09-25-08-22-38

 

SYSTEM & UPDATES

As said in my unboxing, the Phantom 5 comes with a 64-Bit Android Lollipop OS

IMG_2693
After using the device for a day or two, I got a notification for a system update and nope it is not Android Marshmallow lol. The system update was a firmware update to enhance machine stability and fix bugs.

Screenshot_2015-09-19-07-13-51

After downloading the 29.97MB file,  I didn’t really notice much difference.

CAMERA

The Phantom 5 comes with an 8MP front facing camera which is huge and a 13MP back-facing camera with dual LED flash.

IMG_2792

Of course, trust me to try out if the camera is  impressive or blah. See the test below, By the way, shout out to Omoge Mura for taking the selfie shots

INDOOR TEST (With Little Light)

IMG_20150114_043720

SELFIE TEST (WITH FLASH)

IMG_20150918_132841

 

SELFIE TEST (WITHOUT FLASH)

IMG_20150918_131559

OUTDOOR (This was around 4 PM, Plus I rushed to take the picture, but I am impressed it turned out this way).

IMG_20150918_103847

By the way, the Camera has Normal, HDR, Panorama, Face beauty, Night, and Picture in picture mode.

Screenshot_2015-09-25-08-59-36

It also has Gesture shot, Smile shot, and Slow motion mode

Screenshot_2015-09-25-08-59-48

STORAGE

The Phantom 5 comes with a whopping 32GB ROM, but you have 25.9GB of usable storage

Screenshot_2015-09-25-08-47-13

 

BATTERY

How long can the 3000mAh last for?

Screenshot_2015-09-25-08-46-53

At 15%, it lasted for about 30minutes. I also got it to charge in less than 2 hours.

IMG_2656

By the way ,the Ultra Power saving mode on the Phantom 5 is  a life saver, asides the battery saver option, the Phantom 5 also allows you get more juice from your battery with its ultra power saving mode.

IMG_2694

RAM MANAGEMENT

We know the Phantom 5 comes with a 3GB RAM, however, you are only left with 2GB or less to use.

Screenshot_2015-09-25-08-47-16

 

I took the RAM on a test. I ensured I selected only heavy games like the Modern Combat 5, Mortal Kombat X (Which is a  heavy game), FIFA 14, and WWE Immortals with the Camera and Music app.

IMG_2730

Check out the video below:

OTHER FEATURES.

Aside the FingerPrint sensor, you have your tap to wake, flip to mute and wave to answer feature on the Tecno Phantom 5.

Screenshot_2015-09-25-07-22-03

SOUND

Give me a moment, please;

OMG-GIF

GOODNESS!! The sound on the Phantom 5 is BADASS!!!!!

IMG_2500

You know that type of sound quality that can make people tell you to turn down the volume of your phone because it is clashing with the sound from the TV? That is exactly what you get on the Phantom 5, thanks to its impressive Dolby digital sound, you can hear all the beats from your little device.

Since I know that some of you might doubt this, I took it to the extreme by practicalizing what I just said. I paired the Phantom 5 with the LG LED TV. YASS!

Doubting Thomases, don’t forget to tell me what you think!

BENCHMARK

Of course some benchmarks from Antutu and GeekBench

GeekBench

ANTUTU

PHANTOM 5 VS. PHANTOM Z

Screenshot_2015-09-25-09-47-32

So Guys! What do you think?

IMG_2539

35 Comments

  1. Orhionkpaibima September 25, 2015
    • titi September 25, 2015
    • Fides_RYM September 26, 2015
    • SexyChiChi October 1, 2015
    • SexyChiChi October 1, 2015
  2. Skillz September 25, 2015
  3. Kay September 25, 2015
  4. VicksPaulo September 25, 2015
  5. Anonymous September 25, 2015
  6. titi September 25, 2015
    • Cirphrank September 25, 2015
      • Osakwe tochukwu September 29, 2015
  7. emmaedeh September 25, 2015
  8. El Genio September 25, 2015
    • BenKafor October 1, 2015
      • JanethEze October 1, 2015
  9. Cirphrank September 25, 2015
  10. Joshua September 26, 2015
  11. Samodan195 September 26, 2015
  12. KingAbsolute September 26, 2015
  13. sammy September 26, 2015
  14. Daremarvellous September 27, 2015
    • BenKafor October 1, 2015
  15. Osakwe tochukwu September 29, 2015
  16. Osakwe tochukwu September 29, 2015
    • BenKafor October 1, 2015
  17. SexyChiChi October 1, 2015
  18. BenKafor October 1, 2015
  19. JanethEze October 1, 2015
    • Chisome October 1, 2015
  20. micheal adeniji October 8, 2015
  21. micheal adeniji October 8, 2015
  22. Techycarole November 19, 2015
  23. Eze amaechi March 12, 2016
  24. Eze amaechi March 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

}