ntel nova

Infinix Hot 2 Indepth Review

This has been long overdue, but, I finally get to show you my experience with the Infinix Hot 2, Google’s Android One Device in Africa. In this review, we will be looking at the Infinix Hot 2 Camera, Battery life, Speed, Multitasking and overall performance. So sit back and enjoy. Don’t forget to leave a comment. *bats eyelashes*

DESIGN AND BUILD.

For those who don’t know, the Infinix Hot 2 bears similar resemblance to the Infinix zero, it comes in 3 color variants – Gold, white and black.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (26)

 

Infinix Hot 2 Review (16)

We have the volume button and power button on the right side leaving the other side void of buttons.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (8)

You also get the earphone jack and the charging port on the top. As said in the unboxing, the Infinix Hot 2 is a dual sim device with a removable battery.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (15)

 

POWERING UP THE BABY

Immediately you power up the Infinix Hot 2, you get the Infinix logo first with some animation. (See all that plus the boot time in the video below).

Infinix Hot 2 Review (5) Infinix Hot 2 Review (12)

After that, you get to see the Android logo that has been beautifully designed.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (30)

You should also notice the ambient light sensor(you can barely see this) along with the LED notification light seated beside the front camera.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (13)

SOFTWARE

One unique selling point of the Infinix Hot 2 is that it comes with the latest Android OS – the Android 5.1 and will be upgraded to Marshmallow – you should note that these updates from Google will become obsolete on the Infinix Hot 2 after 2 years.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (7)

 Unlike the XUI ( Infinix stock UI) you are familiar with, the Infinix Hot 2 runs stock Android.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (4)

 

It comes with a capacitive button where the right  button serves as your background apps drawer.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (9)

I noticed that despite the fact that the Infinix Hot 2 is Google’s Android One device, you can still smell Infinix on the phone especially with the default android apps – The Infinix Hot 2 comes with apps like Jumia and Naij, but, you can delete them if you so wish.

Screenshot_2015-09-10-11-44-01[1]

 

Also, some of the apps like Music and Gallery have been replaced with Google’s Music and Photos. You also don’t get a file manager, but the ES file explorer should make up for this.

Since it is on the latest Android 5.1 you have the add guest user option that gives visitors access to your phone without them crowding your own comfy space.

Screenshot_2015-09-10-10-50-33

BATTERY & CHARGING

With a 2200 mAh, you really can’t get your hopes high if you want a longer lasting battery – the Infinix Hot 2’s battery is on the average. Though, I must admit the battery doesn’t drain when in sleep mode – a 1% battery when not using the phone can last for a really long time. But, as soon as you decide to play with it, it zooms away. So if you are getting the Infinix Hot 2, you might just need to get a power bank.

Screenshot_2015-09-10-10-50-44

 

Also, I loved the fact that the Infinix Hot 2 charges on time, not your regular quick charge feature but you might be happy with the way it charges all the same, at least, I was happy.

CAMERA

The Camera on the Infinix Hot 2 is an average camera, with an 8MP back camera and a 2MP front camera.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (20)

You really can’t expect much because the Infinix Hot 2 isn’t delivering so much in that area. However,  I was able to put the camera to real test and discovered that it wasn’t so bad.

See some shots below:

OUTDOOR TEST

IMG_20150908_075240

IMG_20150908_083048

 

HDR TEST

IMG_20150908_075133

 

INDOOR TEST

In a room with no light at all (P.S I couldn’t even see a thing)

IMG_20150907_201036

 

WITH FLASHLIGHT IN A WELL LIGHTED ROOM

IMG_20150907_200840

 

WITHOUT FLASH IN A WELL LIGHTED ROOM

IMG_20150907_200714

 

SELFIE TEST

IMG_20150901_194136

 

SELFIE TEST AFTER APPLYING FILTERS.

IMG_20150901_194208~3

What do you think of the camera?

By the way, you can see Android one come to play with the Camera UI and filters.

Screenshot_2015-09-10-05-36-29

 

RAM MANAGEMENT & STORAGE

The Infinix Hot 2 comes with a 2GB RAM or 1GB RAM (though I have the 2GB version) and a 16GB storage, However, you only have 11GB usable storage  and less than 1GB RAM to use.

Screenshot_2015-09-10-04-36-42

Despite this, the RAM management on the  Infinix is very decent, it handles your basic apps well and also performs very well when multitasking. When playing games, I didn’t notice any lag at all.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (28)

I noticed that after running several applications, normal level of brightness and downloads at the same time, it became quite warm.

 

SPEED TEST: INFINIX VS. SAMSUNG GALAXY S4

Since they both come with a 2GB RAM, I compared the two devices together, check out the video below to see which one fared better:

SOUND QUALITY

I really like the fact that the speaker isn’t placed at the back of the phone instead it is found at the bottom, the sound you get is crisp (as Smartphone speakers go) but try not to expect too much – it does serve you well if you are in a room instead of outdoors.

Infinix Hot 2 Review (23)

Reception and voice quality on the Infinix Hot 2 are also very good –  Phone calls sounded crystal clear, with no background noise or other nasty interference getting in the way.

BENCHMARKING

For the benchmark, I used Antutu Benchmark and the 3ds Benchmark (not all devices can handle this benchmark, but the Infinix Hot 2 did well)

See the results below:

See my Final rating and tell me what you think.

 

30 Comments

  1. Lanre September 10, 2015
  2. holuwamurewa September 10, 2015
    • Korede September 10, 2015
  3. Abiola September 10, 2015
    • Korede September 10, 2015
  4. felix September 13, 2015
  5. Dude September 15, 2015
  6. carl September 17, 2015
    • Tobi Ayeni September 17, 2015
  7. KyLe West October 5, 2015
  8. ob4 October 12, 2015
  9. precious October 13, 2015
  10. Kingsley October 24, 2015
    • Tobi Ayeni October 24, 2015
      • Truth October 25, 2015
        • Tobi Ayeni October 25, 2015
  11. CaptainTopsy(JUMIA agent) October 27, 2015
  12. Hotline bling November 27, 2015
    • Tobi Ayeni November 27, 2015
  13. Mucky Jobs November 29, 2015
  14. Jerry Jerrison December 30, 2015
  15. sammi January 21, 2016
  16. Ruquoyah February 22, 2016
  17. jammy May 6, 2016
  18. joseph July 1, 2016
  19. mine July 22, 2016
  20. Anonymous September 14, 2016
  21. Emmanuel September 14, 2016

Leave a Reply

}