ntel nova

An In-Depth Tecno Camon C8 Review – Is 1GB Really Enough?

When I first met the Camon C8, the first thing I noticed was the size – exactly 5.5 inches big! Of course with something that big, you’d want to show it off by taking it out on a date and if things go well, start a relationship.

Today marks our 2 weeks anniversary and I can proudly say I’ve known enough about the C8 – what makes it tick, as well as what I like and hate about it.

Did I end up falling in love with the C8? Find out!

P.S: The phone is within the N20,000 – N30,000 price range.

THE TECNO CAMON C8 REVIEW

Design and build quality

If you enjoy a phone that feels solid when holding it, then you might just love the Tecno Camon C8, thanks to its leather grainy texture, you get this grippy feel when holding the phone.

tecno camon c8 review design

As said in the previous post, the Camon C8 doesn’t feel heavy at all. Also, instead of having a notification sensor at the top of the screen, the softkeys placed below the screen served that purpose, you could also adjust the settings (more on that later).

tecno camon c8 review

Another thing I loved about the design was the fact that the logo on the back cover wasn’t  so obvious. Also, you should bear in mind that the Camon C8 comes with a Micro and Mini Sim. Lastly, We have the power button and the shutter button (To allow you quickly take those images) on the right side

tecno camon c8 review

Display

Let me start by complimenting Tecno Mobile on making a smartphone display that is so on point! The Camon C8’s 720 x 1080p panel is very sharp and won’t leave anyone wanting for a lack of detail.

tecno camon c8 review

I think the display is enhanced  by Miravision pre-installed in the C8. All in all, I can tell you that the display on the Camon C8 is crystal clear –  all the colors come alive and not just in the night time.

tecno camon c8 review

Battery life

With a 3000mAh battery on the Camon C8, do you need to bother with a power bank? Maybe if you’re a terrible game addict. One word for the battery life on the Camon C8 – amazing!

Screenshot_2015-08-24-22-09-35

 

Given my terrible relationship/bad habit with charging phones. (I hardly charge my devices till the last minute) the Tecno Camon C8 still got me covered. I remember waking up one morning to discover that I didn’t charge the C8  and I had 15% to get me through – the 15% got me 30 minutes grace with Wifi and brightness still active.

 

SAMSUNG CSC

Also, there is a Battery saver mode and an ultra power saving mode – The battery saving mode reduces the device performance ( Might not be so effective if you need to save more battery)

Screenshot_2015-08-24-22-41-58

While the Ultra power saving mode is very effective in saving battery, it creates a simple main screen that allows you use only essential applications.

Screenshot_2015-08-24-22-30-34

 

Storage

The Camon C8 comes with roughly 10GB of usable internal storage, but it’s also equipped with a microSD card slot to help quench your thirst for additional gee-bees.

Screenshot_2015-08-12-11-46-00

 

Audio and speaker

This might be disappointing to a few people – the Camon C8 has its speaker rooted at the back of the phone, so, for every time you need to play some good music you must always ensure you turn your phone to the back.

tecno camon c8 review

 

Camera

Err, you all know that the major feature Tecno Mobile is selling with the Camon C8 is its camera. For those who don’t know the Camon C8 comes with a 13Mp with auto-focus and dual flash.

tecno camon c8 review

..and a 5MP front camera with flash.

SAMSUNG CSC

It has 4 capture modes – the wave to capture, touch capture, voice capture, and delay capture, it also has a HDR, actual mode, PIP (picture in picture) mode and the slow mo mode.

Screenshot_2015-08-23-13-26-02

I am sure you all are waiting to see pictures taken with the Camon C8, however, in order to really go extensive on the camera, a camera review would be made that would contain some comparisons with my Nx300, Infinix Hot 2, Galaxy S5 and S4 to see if the device is truly worth the hype.

Software

If you have been keeping up with the latest Tecno Mobile’s customized Android OS, you would have noticed that their user interface is so beautiful especially with the Boom J7. Well, the Camon C8 is no exception as the UI is even flatter than the previous UI thanks to the fact that it runs on a customized version of Android Lollipop 5.0 (64-bit).

Screenshot_2015-08-12-11-40-41

Upon powering up the device after the regular set up, you would be required to do a firmware update to enhance machine stability and patch bugs. The update is 7.22MB in size. Do bear in mind that the update isn’t a software update and upon updating I didn’t really notice any changes

Screenshot_2015-08-12-07-17-10

You should also see the Lollipop OS come into play especially when you need to stop apps. Unlike previous OS versions, the Lollipop OS allows you clear all apps at once instead of swiping them one after the other.

Screenshot_2015-08-24-22-42-52

 

It also has some basic functions like tap to wake, quick start, music control, flip to mute and wave to answer.

Screenshot_2015-08-24-22-43-05

 

In case you need to take a quick picture, there is a camera on the home slider where you can take pictures instantly, these pictures would appear on the timeline.

Screenshot_2015-08-24-12-19-24

 

Lastly, as said earlier, your softkey is serving as your notification sensor. To adjust this, just go to display- Light and choose whatever tickles your fancy

Screenshot_2015-08-23-17-43-34

 

Performance: Multitasking

I am so sure most of you are wondering if  the 1GB on the Tecno Camon C8 can handle heavy tasks. To put your minds at ease especially if you are a gamer and need to get the Camon C8, I have created a multitasking test video – In the video, I tried running different games like Monument valley, GTA, Hitman Sniper and other apps like camera, music, temple run, subway surfer all at the same time.

Do Watch the video and tell me what you think:

 

BENCHMARKING

What is a review without a few Benchmarks, in order to see how the Camon C8 fared with other high-end devices, I used the Antutu Benchmark and Geek Bench 3. See the results:


Screenshot_2015-08-22-15-55-29

 

Yes! the Tecno C8 got a total of 27,031 which is quite impressive for a phone in that price range.

Screenshot_2015-08-22-15-49-39

 

For the GeekBench 3, the Camon C8 had 574 in the Single core comparison.

CONCLUSION

I have to admit that I like the Camon C8. However, will this like translate to love and possibly lead to a long-lasting relationship? Watch out for part 2. 

I’d give my final say when I compare the Camon C8’s Camera with other devices and yes! a professional camera,  if the Camon C8’s camera has what it takes to beat these guys .. we can talk about marriage!

Before you go, here are some few bugs/Just for laughs I discovered. (Note: This only happened once, you might not experience this on your device)

Any chinese reader in the house?Screenshot_2015-08-20-09-28-52

 

That is all I can take and as always I would love to read your comments.

UPDATE: I’VE BEEN USING THE TECNO CAMON C8 FOR THE PAST 1 MONTH, WHEN I STARTED USING IT, It handled my apps well albeit not too many apps. However, of recent, the Camon c8 regularly shuts down apps. I have made a complaint to Tecno Mobile and I hope they send an update to fix this. 

135 Comments

  1. EmmanuelIK August 25, 2015
    • windyjosezy August 25, 2015
      • tolung August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
      • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • Clement John September 6, 2017
  2. T August 25, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
      • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
  3. JujuEars August 25, 2015
    • SexyChiChi August 25, 2015
      • tolung August 26, 2015
    • onekindaguy August 25, 2015
      • tolung August 26, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
  4. SexyChiChi August 25, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
      • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • Leisure October 28, 2015
  5. BenKafor August 25, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
      • BenKafor August 26, 2015
        • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
          • femikutti August 27, 2015
      • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
  6. JanethEze August 25, 2015
    • KENSHI August 25, 2015
      • tolung August 26, 2015
        • femikutti August 27, 2015
      • SexyChiChi August 26, 2015
        • femikutti August 27, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
    • femikutti August 27, 2015
  7. KENSHI August 25, 2015
    • BenKafor August 26, 2015
      • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
        • femikutti August 27, 2015
  8. SolaJ August 25, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
      • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
        • femikutti August 27, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
    • femikutti August 27, 2015
  9. victor August 25, 2015
    • Tobi Ayeni August 25, 2015
      • tolung August 26, 2015
        • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
  10. Nuel August 25, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
      • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
        • femikutti August 27, 2015
  11. Kiki tha Slayer August 25, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
  12. Oghogho August 25, 2015
    • Tobi Ayeni August 26, 2015
      • tolung August 26, 2015
        • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
          • femikutti August 27, 2015
  13. Hokaamoy August 26, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
      • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
  14. nonichuks August 26, 2015
  15. tbadejo25 August 26, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
    • femikutti August 27, 2015
  16. Bastian Grey August 26, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
  17. tolung August 26, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
      • femikutti August 27, 2015
  18. bakkajo August 26, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
    • femikutti August 27, 2015
  19. Lanre August 26, 2015
    • tolung August 26, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
    • femikutti August 27, 2015
  20. tolung August 26, 2015
    • bolutife coke August 26, 2015
  21. EmmanuelIK August 27, 2015
    • femikutti August 27, 2015
  22. femikutti August 27, 2015
  23. EmmanuelIK August 27, 2015
  24. tobi August 31, 2015
  25. Anonymous September 2, 2015
  26. Anonymous September 16, 2015
  27. micheal adeniji September 16, 2015
    • Tobi Ayeni October 3, 2015
  28. Anonymous September 16, 2015
  29. Attahiru Zubairu October 4, 2015
  30. Anonymous October 5, 2015
  31. Anonymous October 5, 2015
  32. Sagman October 12, 2015
  33. Noni October 19, 2015
    • Tobi Ayeni October 19, 2015
  34. Lewis Daniel October 21, 2015
  35. felix October 25, 2015
  36. Chris October 28, 2015
  37. FELIX October 30, 2015
  38. adeyemi mathew November 3, 2015
  39. qwin December 9, 2015
    • Tobi Ayeni December 9, 2015
  40. Ire December 15, 2015
  41. santuskudos January 17, 2016
    • Tobi Ayeni January 17, 2016
  42. wunmi January 18, 2016
  43. santuskudos January 23, 2016
    • Anonymous March 25, 2016
  44. shegs February 11, 2016
  45. Anonymous February 19, 2016
    • Clement John September 6, 2017
  46. Legendary Fortune February 23, 2016
    • Tobi Ayeni February 23, 2016
      • Legendary Fortune May 23, 2016
  47. Michaelking March 25, 2016
  48. Michaelking March 25, 2016
  49. nicky sandy May 5, 2016
  50. Emeka May 6, 2016
  51. BRIGGS GLORIA IBISO June 18, 2016
  52. @vinyl4realz July 22, 2016

Leave a Reply

}